The bag of useless currency

Europe is overrun with pay toilets. It drives me mental. No one should have to pay to pee, people.

I caught the bus from Dubrovnik to Podgorica, Montenegro, so I could then catch the overnight train to Belgrade. I had a two hour wait at the Podgorica train station, which smells like cigarette smoke and gasoline. I had to pee.

The cost for the toilet was €0.40. ‘So what?’ you’re thinking. Yes, I’m fundamentally opposed to paying for public toilets, but sometimes you suck it up and do it.

Except I didn’t have €0.40. I had €0.15. And 400 Hungarian forints. And 35 Croatian kuna. Also 1 Bosnian mark, 2 Czech crowns, an American quarter, $3 Canadian and 5p. According to The Keeper Of The Toilet (ie. the woman sitting on the floor outside the door), this amounted to a whole heap of nothin’.

I waited the two hours. When I got on the train I went immediately to the bathroom, which had a smashed window, no faucet on the sink and therefore no water, and no toilet seat (or paper). I hovered, as the train rocked and swayed, and unfairly cursed all Montenegrins.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The bag of useless currency

  1. jenny says:

    where for art thou now Aasa?

Leave a Reply

