If I should become a stranger, you know it would make me more than sad…

It’s my last day in Edinburgh, and it seems fitting that I’m spending most of it at my pub. For the afternoon I set up a wee office at a table, with my computer and my Eurail map and my knitting, and my friend Lauren and a few half pints of red cask ale and then some red wine, and now a haggis for supper…my boss gave me a lovely card and a silver bracelet, and it all seems like a proper end for my time here.

This has been the most amazing year of my life, people, and Edinburgh, and this pub, are the reasons.

So on my last day, here’s a pictorial of my walk to work, which I won’t do again.

Outside my door is Leith Walk, and the potential to rent Bollywood movies.

Down Elm Row is Joseph Pearce, a Swedish pub that sells Portuguese lager on tap. Its menus are glued into Disney books. Last time we were there, we read Dumbo.

I go past the Omni Centre.  There’s the giraffee statues out front, inside of which – when walking home at 5 a.m. after Canada Day – I discovered an Irish couple sleeping.  What would happen if you crawled inside there and couldn’t get out? Jase and I have imagined the scenario a number of times.

“Hi, Ola? Hi this is Aasa calling. Uh, I’ll be a bit late for work today…Why? Well, I’m stuck inside a giraffe…yeah…Don’t worry though, the firemen are on their way with the Jaws of Life so I shouldn’t be too much longer…I’m fired? Right, okay.”

I got a bit teary, today, crossing the North Bridge, and knowing I no longer get to walk across it every day. Not many places do you get, on your way to work, to gaze at a dormant volcano to your left and a castle to your right.

If  I’m working in the morning, I cut through the North Bridge arcade, past the Who’s Who clothing store which used to employ Mr. Chad Wilson, to my favorite news agent

Naz! He gives me free stuff.

Then I go up the nearest close to the Mile…

…to my wee pub with grand food.

Inside (if you’re lucky) you’ll meet these guys.

I’ll miss you, McGregor.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If I should become a stranger, you know it would make me more than sad…

  1. Cheryl says:

    That was nostalgic for ME. How it must be for you. Yes, this year has been the time of your life, and the memories wil last a lifetime. Edinburgh is a city that grasps hold of a person no matter how long or short the
    visit(s). Thanks for the walk.

    Cheryl

  2. Karla Marshall says:

    what a wonderful way to end your Edinburgh story.. I don’t even know the 2 old guys at the end and they made me cry!

    love mom

  3. aasaelsewhere says:

    Mom, you have no idea how much The Johns would laugh if they heard you called them “The old guys”. Ha! But thanks, I’m glad you liked it.

  4. Dani says:

    Scotland will always be here waiting for you! 🙂

    I’m sorry I didn’t get a chance to see you again before you left. Hope you have a great time on your travels. Really looking forward to reading all about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

