Planning

I’m planning.

Though it makes me sad to know that in about two months I’ll no longer live in Edinburgh, I’m getting excited about The Next Thing. The plans are starting to come together.  I’ll work until mid-September, at which point I’ll pack up and head to London for a few days (and possibly Bristol and/or Guildford), and then to Munich. That’s right kids, I’m going to Oktoberfest, and Andrea’s going to meet me there. We’re hoping to find accomodation that doesn’t include sleeping in Julia’s car, but it’s not outside the realm of possibility.

Then! After three or four days of drinking GIANT BEER, I’ll head to Vienna, and then from Austria to Prague, and from there the plan is to not really have a plan, but to wander around Eastern Europe until I’m low on cash, and then cross my fingers and hope to find another job back in the UK.

I don’t know exactly how much money I’ll have at the end of the summer, but I’m saving like mad. To help stretch my money further as I travel, I’m planning to do some Couchsurfing. I think it’ll be a great way not only to save cash, but to get to know the places I visit better – it’s always great to have a local tour guide.  I’ll offer knitting lessons or proofreading services to anyone willing to take me in (I have a limited list of skills, it seems).

This prospect will probably make my family nervous, but rest assured guys, I’ll be safe about this. And Jeff, relax, you’ve seen Taken way too many times.

August is about to hit and with it a population explosion in Edinburgh. August = festival season, which means the Royal Mile fills with slow-moving tourists and flyer-distributing-performers and sword-swallowers and machete-jugglers and other forms of general chaos. We’re going to work our asses off, and party far too hard.

(PS – Yes, in the picture is a copy of Hemingway’s Death in the Afternoon, his epic tome on bullfighting, because yes, I am planning to attend the Running of the Bulls festival in Pamplona, Spain, next year. That’s not until next July, but I have a habit of getting ahead of myself).

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Planning

  1. Clayton John says:

    well,

    i’ve come across your blog somehow through a football website and i absolutely love it! well played! i’m an irishman living in america now (northern new jersey about 10 minutes from manhattan) and i miss traveling throughout europe. i miss ireland especially! when you go back to eire, head down to munster and go to the deises…aka port lairge…aka waterford. check out the city, it’s gorgeous. there is so much history there with the old walls and reginald’s tower (which happens to be the oldest fort on the island!).

    a perfect night in waterford starts like this…

    do a happy hour type thing at one of the pubs in ballybricken…then walk downtown to the quay and go to one of the “night clubs” as we’d say here in america. muldoons is my favourite.

    anyway, i hope you enjoy your time in beautfiul europe…just try and stay away from the union jack as much as possible. i’ll be home in 20 more years when i retire at the lovely age of 44. i’ve a nice plot of land right on the beach in county wexford (which you need to check out) all picked out…

    cheers,

    Clayton John

Leave a Reply

