Andrea Wuz Here

Today is as crisp a blue-sky day you get in Edinburgh. I woke up at 8:30, even though it’s actually 7:30 (stupid time change), threw a coat on over my pajamas and went to the corner store. I bought two Sunday papers. I came home and made coffee.

I don’t work again until Thursday, because I still have annual leave that I need to use the hell up. For someone who works six days a week, this much freedom is a bit disconcerting. I don’t want to go anywhere because I’m saving my money for April 11, when Jenny! gets here – so I’ve offered to paint my flatmate’s walls during my time off in exchange for a rent reduction. I love the barter system.

About an eon ago, Andrea! was here. I haven’t written about it because I was waiting for her to send me some pictures, and then she did and I forgot to actually check that email account for weeks, so I didn’t notice.

It turns out we just took a lot of pictures of ourselves, with Edinburgh in the background.

When she arrived, and every so often over the next few days, Andrea said things like ‘It’s a shame you live in such an ugly city’. Then she decided she might never leave.

Into her three days here we packed a lot of wander-shopping, pint-drinking, and some sight-seeing. We ate haggis for Robbie Burns night, Andrea got a spontanenous rock-star hair cut, and took part in the oh-so-Scottish tradition of attending Australia Day festivities at the Walkabout. I got a Fosters hat.

I think I can convince her to come back in August.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Andrea Wuz Here

  1. jenny says:

    I was just telling Andrea how awesome those pictures she takes of her in the foreground, and someone else in the background were (like picture 2).

Leave a Reply

