We’re from the Capital!

Stroke another mandatory Scottish experience off the list: I made it to a football game.

My boss has season tickets for the Hearts of the Midlothian footie club, one of two in the Edinburgh (the other is the Hiburnians – the evil Hibs. We have to be Hearts fans in our pub). He and his friend were going to be out of town last weekend when a game was on, so he gave Jase and I his tickets for the game, along with his red and white striped Hearts scarf.

The seats were prime. The weather was perfect. The fans were hilarious.

My favorite of the soccer chants, that started up whenever the other team’s fans got rowdy, went like this:

“We’re from the capital, you’re from a shithole – you’re from a shithole, we’re from the capital”.

The nickname for the Hearts is ‘Jambos’, which I didn’t understand for ages, until I finally asked John the Regular. Here’s the logic: ‘Hearts’ rhymes with ‘Tarts’, and some tarts are jam tarts, hence: Jambos. What? I don’t know. What I do know is that you can find Jambos the world over: another of our regulars, Stewart, once found a pub called ‘The Jambo Bar’ in THAILAND. I have a feeling the same is true for Rider fans.

We are now officially Jambos.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We’re from the Capital!

  1. Cheryl says:

    Hi Aasa. We are in the midst of recordbreaking cold weather, now changing into above zero C warm weather. I keep checking here to see what you are doing. Have you not been out, elsewhere, lately? There must be something for you to record for our amusement and for your future perusal.
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

