Jus gonnae no

I don’t always understand the Scottish accent. Most of the people I see day to day are easy to understand, but occasionally I encounter a person with a very broad rolling accent, and I don’t have the slightest idea what they’re saying. At times it doesn’t even sound like English until the second time round, and even then I usually end up saying ‘Sorry…what?’. Or something more polite.

I love parts of Scottish speech however. I am using the word ‘wee’ with reckless abandon. It can be used in so many instances, from ‘Oh look at the wee puppy!’ to ‘Just send me a wee text’. I use it whenever possible.

I’m fond of being called ‘lassie’, and occasionally ‘wee lassie’.

I also love how the Scots say ’aye’ and ’nae’ for ’yes’ and ’no’. And instead of ‘cannot’ or ‘can’t’, it’s ‘cannae’. Or ‘going to’ becomes ‘gonnae’.

Another favourite addition to my vocabulary is ‘minging’, or usually ‘mingin’, definition: ‘gross, dirty, or generally disgusting’. This can be used to describe everything from dirty dishrags to yourself if you’ve gone for some time without a shower; also can be used to describe how drunk you were the night before: ‘I was absolutely mingin’.

Another word for drunk (perhaps it’s appropriate the Scots have many, and I mean no disrespect by that), is ‘steaming’ (or again, ‘steamin’). And to be in a bad mood, or pissed off with someone, is to be ‘in a strop’, or if you like: ‘stroppy’.

My work mate Jenny, from Glasgow, swears the following is a phrase: “Gonnae no dae tha – jus gonnae no”, which translated is “Gonna not do that, just gonna not”, which still doesn’t make much sense. But I love it!

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jus gonnae no

  1. dhana says:

    I adore the scottish language!! It cracks me up! “Mingin'” is also my favourite too along with “wheesht”. I say both a lot at work and it cracks my colleagues up since my Canadian accent butchers it a bit haha!

    There’s a funny expression they say here, that’s from an oold comic book called Oor Wullie…it’s “Jings Crivens!” The Oor is “Our” and Wullie is Scottish slang for William. The full saying is “Jings Crivens, and help ma boab” which translates into “Jesus Christ, and help my Bob”…Bob was his mate in the comic lol

    “Haud yer wheesht” translates into “shut your mouth” or, more politely, “be quiet!”

    I’ll do some research and provide you with a list! lol

  2. amy says:

    I’m with you all the way on this! My fiance (from Aberdeen) says all these things so often that it seems suprising that this isn’t common knowledge for all North Americans. While we’re on the subject of words for “drunk”, my favorite Aberdonian one is “bleezin'”, as in “Pat was bleeeeezin’ last night.”

    Sadly, “mingin'” is used frequently in my house (unfortunately it’s sometimes in reference to me…oops).

    The gratuitous use of “wee”, the terms “steamin'” and “stroppy” – oh yeah, that’s all standard protocol for us.

    We also do the “wheesht” or “haud or wheesht” and we have several compilation books of the Oor Wullie comics.

    I have a Weegie friend I met in London who also would say “gonnae no dae tha!” all the time. With much fervor. Too funny! I love finding kindred spirits that appreciate the turns that the language we call English can take. 😉

Leave a Reply

