A Radical Approach to Scottish History

My Scottish history class is going well. The teacher certainly believes in his subject matter, and in questioning everything that’s commonly accepted about Scotland’s past. In class tonight he actually said (I like to write his direct quotes in my notebook): “I am trying to re-write Scottish history from the ground up”. So far I’ve had three classes. Lesson one: The Romans weren’t that important. Lesson two: The Picts were the greatest artists in the history of the world. Lesson three: There is no such thing as Celtic people. Next week: Was King Arthur Scottish? (I have a feeling the answer is going to be Of course he was).

He frequently presents what is considered to be historical fact, and then says ‘Complete and utter tosh!’, or ‘Self-serving Christian propoganda!’, or ‘Patronizing guff!’, and frequently: ‘Always ask yourself: Where are the women? Historians don’t seem to care about them.’  

Some other random outbursts:

“Every culture on this island is a mongrel culture.”

Something in Gaelic, which he translated to mean ‘Lick my arse’.

“Be critical! Take nothing, absolutely nothing, on trust…except what I tell you”.

 

I’m enjoying it immensely.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Radical Approach to Scottish History

  1. Jenny says:

    Sounds fantastic.

    Hey, if you ever move back to Canada for a bit, do you want to be my roommate? I may potentially be next door to both the bowling alley and the library.

Leave a Reply

