Favorite things about Edinburgh, Part 2: Old Town skyline

I love the Old Town. I love just looking in the direction of the Old Town. I work in the Old Town, on High Street, which is part of the Royal Mile, which is for another post. This post is about just the look of the Old Town from Princes Street, where the New Town begins.

The skyline is a jumble of residential buildings reaching to the sky, that were built back when the city was surrounded by a wall and the only way to expand was to build up. At one end of the skyline is Edinburgh Castle, that beautifully huge collection of stone buildings atop a long-dormant volcano. There’s also the city council building, and the Assembly Hall, and the spire of St. Giles Cathedral, and then at the other end the Scotsman and Carlton hotels, bisected by the North Bridge.

My favorite time to look at the Old Town, however, is at night.

The castle

When I’m done a shift at the pub around 10, I’ll sometimes go to the information centre beside the Balmoral Hotel and just…sit. I sit and look at the skyline: the castle is lit up, as is the council buildings, and the hotels, and I watch the double decker buses drive over the bridge from Old Town to New, and back again.

The other night, as I was sitting, I had my camera with me. I tried to take some really slow shutter speed shots while holding really, really still, but the pictures weren’t turning out the way I wanted. So I thought screw it, if the pictures don’t work when I hold still, I’ll see how they look when I move around a lot.

Hence, The Balmoral:

The castle (from a distance):

And on my way home, the North Bridge:

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

