Favorite things about Edinburgh, Part 1: Greyfriar’s Kirkyard

I have the day off today, but it is very, very damp outside, so I’m sipping a latte at Elephant & Bagels and using their wi-fi. I’m taking the opportunity to give you installment one of My Favorite Things About Edinburgh.

When I have the day off and it’s NOT pissing down rain, I like to go to Greyfriar’s Kirkyard. That’s right. One of my favorite places in the city is a cemetary.

It’s a quiet place to go in the middle of the city, and I’m apparently not the only one who thinks so. When I’m there, sitting on a stone wall with my back against a gravestone, writing postcards, there’s usually someone across from me eating their lunch or reading the paper.

Sure it’s full of creepy iconography:

 

but altogether it’s really beautiful, and from my perch I have a view of the castle. It’s always nice to have a view of the castle.

It’s easy to while away an hour or two, wandering between the head stones, some of which are worn smooth of names, or have tipped over and broken.

When I leave, I always pick up a good stick, and leave it at the entrance for Greyfriar’s Bobby.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Favorite things about Edinburgh, Part 1: Greyfriar’s Kirkyard

  1. Jenny says:

    Your pictures are so beautiful. I can’t wait to come and drink from at the microbreweries. Why hasn’t your dad been there yet?

  2. Susan says:

    People hand out at the graveyard in Cuba as well. Odd isn’t when we don’t get withing 2 miles of one in Saskatchewan (except at funerals). Great pictures, how about some of a few of the locals. take care.

  3. Susan says:

    Sorry, hang out and odd isn’t it, and within doesn’t have a g on the end. I’m a maniac.

  4. Karla says:

    So the Greyfriars Bobby made me cry!!!!!

Leave a Reply

