sweet home

 
 

 

This is where I live. I pay more rent than I’d like, than I would if I shared a flat with three or four other people, but mine is a two bedroom place that Lindsay owns, and I like it, so I’m staying here.

It comes with a comfy bed and a lounge with wide comfy couches near tall windows that let in lots of day light. It’s in a great part of the city, really close to downtown. It only takes me 15 minutes to walk to work every day. It has a gas fire place and white wool rug and a puppy.

I’m liking my job. Now that the festival season is over and thousands of tourists aren’t walking past the pub each day, the pace is easier to handle. I’ve gotten to know my co-workers and the regulars who sit across the bar. The haggis is really good. The Polish chef giggles every time I say ‘cheeseburger’ (apparently it’s my Rs). American tourists try to place my accent (Kansas? Philadelphia?).

I haven’t been much outside of Edinburgh yet, but I’m planning some day trips. I have Thursday off, and plan to catch the train to Stirling, to see the castle there and the William Wallace monument and the battlefield of Bannockburn. I’ve signed up for a class at Edinburgh university called ‘A Radical Approach to Scottish History’, and another, one-day class about Robert the Bruce that’s held at Edinburgh castle.

I may never get tired of this city.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to sweet home

  1. dhana says:

    The train station is some distance from Bannockburn, and it’s really far to walk. I’m not sure which bus you would need to catch.

    Think of me when the train passes through Linlithgow, I’ll be at work! You’ll be able to see the Palace and look down on the High Street as you’re passing through. The court is right on the rail line in fact, but I won’t bother telling you what the roof looks like! LOL

    🙂 Enjoy yourself, can’t wait to hear about it! We’re going to Oban on Saturday overnight, so will be back Sunday night.

Leave a Reply

