remember your brolly.

Edinburgh Rule #1: Never leave your flat without an umbrella. Mine has orange polka dots.

I was walking home last night from my second shift as Bar Wench Extraordinaire, when I saw an exitable man with a German accent pointing his cell phone camera at the sky. As I approached, he started exclaiming: “Look! A full moon! I can see a full moon! In Edinburgh!”

He was right, the moon was there, and full, only partially covered by clouds, and he was trying to capture it on his phone to prove to others that he’d seen it.

“I’ve been in Edinburgh for a month, and I haven’t seen the moon! Or stars! Oh LOOK! THERE’S A STAR!”

It’s true that you rarely see the sky here. I’ve been here officially one week, and have yet to really see the sun: it has come out twice in the afternoon that I’m aware of, and both times I was working inside at the time. I haven’t even taken pictures of Edinburgh yet, because I’m waiting for a day with blue sky. I may be waiting awhile.

But oh, what a beautiful city this is. Oh my.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to remember your brolly.

  1. amy says:

    So true, so true! I’ve spent a fair bit of time in Scotland and I can totally relate. Still, I love it – the pubs, the kilts (however unauthentic), the dialects, the pubs (again). You know.

    The first day I was in Edinburgh it was super sunny – blue sky everywhere, people laying around basking in the green grass. Sucker! Every day after that, not so much.

    Am loving your blogroll, by the way. Fun fun.

  2. dhana says:

    I’m glad you think Edinburgh is beautiful, I think it is too 🙂

    I’m back from Canada now, when do you want to meet up? Are you free this week?

Leave a Reply

