Working for the weekend.

I’ve had a lovely job since I got here in mid-June. I live and work here, Narly Oak Bed and Breakfast, owned and operated by Tamara’s parents, Tom and Mollie. Tom is an ex-Major in the British army, who insists on calling me ‘The Colonial’. Mollie is a sweetheart who is involved in every committee, event, and council in the village of Clapham and nearby Bedford, it seems.

I help make full English breakfasts in the morning, if there’s a lot of people staying (bacon, sausage, eggs, beans, tomato, mushrooms, fry bread, cereal, toast, tea or coffee, whew).  I make the beds and clean the bathrooms and do laundry. In the afternoons I walk the dog and read the paper and drink coffee, and it’s all pretty nice.

I’ve been looking for a second job, though, because this one pretty much just provides me with room and board. I distributed resumes (CVs), around Bedford, at cafes and pubs and things. I stopped at one recruitment agency (there are many) because it had a sign in the window that waitresses were needed. I had a meeting with an agent there, who said they mostly need waitresses for weddings occasionally, and she would let me know if more things came up. Things like a position at a local factory that assembles pregnancy test kits. Yup.

On our way home the other day from Sainsburys, Mollie pulled into a hotel a few minutes from the B&B so I could take a CV, on the off chance they were looking for people. We arrived at home. The phone rang 3.4 minutes later, and a man named Niel asked if I’d come in for an interview. Was I just looking for waitressing work? Would I be interested in shifts at reception? Yup.

I went in for an interview on Friday, and he offered me a few shifts a week on the spot, answering phones and booking rooms and such. My first shift is Thursday.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

