the lounge is full of farmers for the 7:30 draw

Since I got overseas I’ve been listening to a lot of songs about Canada for some reason. For my ex-pat friends (and anyone else that might be vaguely interested), here’s my current playlist.  Suggestions welcome!

Songs for Occasionally Homesick Canadians (the mostly Prairies Edition):

+ 42 Below Zero – Dave Lang! Woo!

+ Tournament of Hearts – The Weakerthans. Ah the lyrical fantasticness of John K. Sampson; a song about relationships and curling. 

+ Oh, Alberta – Elliot Brood

+ True Patriot Love – Joel Plaskett Emergency

+ The Truck Got Stuck – Corb Lund. Oh how I can picture this.

+ Wheat Kings – The Tragically Hip. In Ireland I realized I had no Hip on my Ipod. “You call yourself a Canadian?” Mike asked me. “Not anymore,” I said.

+ Wide Open – Jason Plumb. A song about Saskatchewan, I think written for the centennial in 2004. These guys played a great concert at the Lyric last summer, and were nice enough to give me a free CD for manning their merch table. Aw.

+ Girl in Saskatoon – Johnny Cash

+ CGY – Dragon Fli Empire. A new discovery; sums of Calgary nicely.

+ Home for a Rest – Spirit of the West. Oh so appropriate after Ireland…except that it’s about London…whatever.

+ Dirty Town – Mother Mother

+ Canada – Low

+ An American Draft Doger in Thunder Bay – Sam Roberts

+ Heros of the Sidewalk – Two Hours Traffic. Good little band from PEI.

+ 9 Hrs to Go – Po’ Girl

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the lounge is full of farmers for the 7:30 draw

  1. jenny says:

    ohhh I love Dragon Fli Empire and also the tourament of hearts song. I heard a good song called Flatlander on cbc radio 3. that’s awesome that you are going to see aimee

  2. Jenny says:

    Ok, I think it might be called Flatlands by Pony da Look

Leave a Reply

