Rocky start

Keeping with the theme of giving slogans to countries, here’s another one:

Ireland: Hard On The Liver.

Also, one Dustin will appreciate:

Ireland: It’s Very Green Here.

Dublin, unfortunately, was awful. It wasn’t Dublin’s fault. It started out with me arriving on June 4th, expecting the boys would arrive June 5th, at 5:30 a.m. After waiting until noon with no sign of Jeff, Dustin or Mike, I sent a frantic facebook message saying WHERE ARE YOU, before realizing that they left the States on the 5th, and wouldn’t actually arrive in Ireland until the 6th. Oops. It was drizzly and awful all day, and instead of seeing anything I went to the theatre to watch Iron Man and eat popcorn to take my mind off my stupidity.

For the rest of the day I stressed about having nowhere to sleep the next night, because my hostel was going to be full, though after some cancellations I ended up being able to stay there anyway.

The next morning, the 6th, I got up fairly confident that the boys would arrive. I took my book to the hostel lobby around 7 a.m. and waited. Jeff showed up shortly afterwards, and I was so relieved it took a minute to realize he was alone.

Dustin and Mike were supposed fly from Buffalo to Boston where Jeff was waiting to catch the flight with them. They didn’t show, so he got on the plane by himself, after a quick call to dad saying “If Dusty calls, I went to Ireland”.

Right. Crap.

Mysteriously, a travel companion¬†I didn’t even know about, Ben, showed up during breakfast. So at least there were three of us.

At 7 a.m. the next morning I went downstairs again, to find the missing two were downstairs having breakfast. Their flight from Buffalo to Boston had been cancelled, and they’d caught the same flight the next day.

Finally, everyone was in Dublin. And when in Dublin:

go to the Guinness brewery.

(The boys in order: Jeff, Ben, Dustin, Mike)

We checked the barley

(apparently Guinness buys two-thirds of all the barley in Ireland, and it’s all “of the highest quality”).

We learned how it’s brewed. We read the history. We tasted.

To get through Guinness, you travel up seven floors, on the top you get a free pint.

You have to wait until the beer is completely black before you drink it, or people will yell at you. Well, Ben will likely yell at you.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rocky start

  1. jenny says:

    Jeff, and every Jeff is near has the unlucky travel gene.

    I so wish I was there. I have a secret crush on the Irelands.

Leave a Reply

