Bath and Bristol

I’ve done a lot of lounging over the past two weeks. I’ve spent some time wandering around Bristol, then two days last week wandering around Bath, and am looking forward to being in Ireland tomorrow and having other people to wander around with: namely my brother, Jeff, the red-headed step-child, Dustin, and Boy-Whose-Father-Invented-Trivial-Pursuit, who I’ve not yet met.

Bath was intensely lovely (there!), and I paid too much to wander around the 2,000 year old Roman baths, and was glad I did. The fire alarm went off when I was half way through the museum, and I had to evacuate and go back later (it hadn’t burnt down).

The water has turned green, but the baths are still in immaculate shape and wander throughout the building. The Romans had heated floors in their steamy massage rooms, for crying out loud.

The baths are right beside the Abbey, (you can see it in the background), right beside which is a square with rotating buskers. On the other side of the baths people gather around buskers who do magic shows, or juggle knives while wearing pink tutus on top of giant unicycles.

I sat in the square and read “Northhanger Abbey”, because Jane Austen used to live in Bath, in this house (#4):

Bristol is a big busy university town were Tamara works for a law firm, and is also an excellent place to wander. I wandered through the markets one day, and sat under a tree eating lunch in Queen’s Square on another. At the Watershed Media Centre I attended a lecture on the United States’ use of torture against detainees, I walked up to Cabot tower in the park (John Cabot discovered Newfoundland), and went to the Empire and Commonwealth museum, with its extensive exhibit on the history of the slave trade. (A lot of explorers launched their ships from Bristol, and it was the hub of trade, in both goods and people, after that).

St. Mary Radcliff Cathedral

 

Now! My cab will be here soon to take me to the airport, from which I will catch my flight to Dublin. It is quite possible I will be spending much time in pubs over the next two weeks.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bath and Bristol

  1. Heather says:

    Gosh, I love your pictures.

  2. Andrea says:

    “Boy-Whose-Father-Invented-Trivial-Pursuit”, really??

Leave a Reply

