Canadian to British dictionary

It was pointed out to me, shortly after arriving in England, that I say ‘awesome’ a lot. Also, ‘totally’. I’m not sure when I started talking like a teenage surfer, but I’m trying to replace these words in my vocabulary with things like “lovely” and “brilliant”.

At times I feel like I must speak a foreign language, like when Tamara and I went grocery shopping, and she asked if I liked ‘bitty orange juice’. When I looked at her quizzically she pointed at the OJ carton, which instead of ‘Pulp’ said ‘With Bits’.  Another day I went to the store with a grocery list, which consisted of ‘fresh tagliatelle, large pot creme fraiche, bacon – 8 rashers’.

Here’s a compilation of other words I have to work into my daily speech:

  • lorry: semi (truck)
  • squash: concentrated juice
  • washing-up liquid: dish soap
  • toff: a ‘posh’ person
  • jacket potato: baked potato
  • chemist: pharmacy
  • punch-up: fight
  • tea: a meal, usually supper
  • boot (on a car): trunk
  • bonnet (on a car): hood
  • pants: underwear. Can also be used as a mild swear word, as in “Oh, pants!”
  • trousers: pants
  • bollocks: bull-shit
  • proferittarolls: cream puffs
  • courchette: zucchini

 

 

 

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Canadian to British dictionary

  1. Dani says:

    I can add more words to the list lol:

    1. Juice – Pop (I still haven’t figured out what they call fruit juice)

    2. Latch – door handle (knob is a very rude term. I still get laughs
    everytime I say it)

    3. Dual Carriageway – highway

    4. Motorway – Road

    5. Mince -Ground beef

    6. Aubergine – Eggplant

    7. Plonker – Idiot (probably one of my favourite words ha!)

    One of the things that drives me NUTS about pronunciation here is that people pronounce “schedule” as “shedual” instead of SKEDUAL. lol

  2. aasaelsewhere says:

    Ah yes…I knew I’d forget a few. Mince took me awhile to figure out, though luckily I recognized aubergine. Also I’m going to try using ‘wanker’ and ‘buggered’ more often.

  3. Karla Marshall says:

    who would have thought you needed an English to Canadian dictionary? or is that Canadian to English?

  4. Marilyn Fischer says:

    Really enjoying your “blog”…..looking forward to hearing about Ireland and hanging with the “bro”.
    Take care,
    Auntie Mare

Leave a Reply

