day one.

I meant to write about my going away party. I meant to post pictures of the Very Important People that came. I meant to say goodbye to Swift Current, to Kyle, to Saskatchewan, to say thank you. My last days in Canada slipped away from me, though, and now here I am at the end of my first full day in Lisbon.

The flight from Calgary to London was long and sleepless, and on the flight from London to Lisbon I sat next to a man who sneezed gobs of snot all over his pants, then tore strips from his newspaper to wipe them off, sticking the mucus-filled scraps into the seat pocket in front of him for some lucky  future passenger to find.

We caught half-hour snippets of sleep on the planes, in Heathrow, and then stumbled, sweaty and lost, around Rossio Square in Lisbon for awhile, before asking a kind police officer to point us towards our hostel. It´s on a street that isn´t really a street, but a winding set of stairs (“The street goes always up”, the kind officer told us.)

The street also holds the seating for the cafes along it, and JJ and I ate at one after showering off the trip. I ordered anchovies, hoping they´d arrive with the heads still attatched. They did.

Delirious with jet lag, JJ and I apparently both blurted out weird things in a state of half-sleep, which caused the Asian girls in the next bunk bed to giggle incessently. We were too tired to care.

 

Today we started to wander, and found double-decker tour buses that took us around the city. We stopped at an arts and crafts market, a cathedral, a battlement with a circular staircase too narrow for people to pass each other. We saw Portuguese bagpipers (who knew?), and a man playing an accordian on the street, accompanied by a chihuahua. I bought a dress from a woman on the street who had only one rack of clothes to sell and no change room, so we tried things of over our clothes  while she held up a small mirror.

Tomorrow, a walking tour of the city, some lounging, some shopping, and some planning for the next week.

Also – Portuguese beer is excellent, as if there was any doubt.

About aasaelsewhere

I like Saskatchewan fine, but am hitting the road soon anyway. First on the itinerary: Portugal, England, Ireland, then England again. I have Yellow Fever immunity, a pending visa, and a blank passport, and can't promise anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to day one.

  1. Rosemary says:

    Portuguese bagpipers? You are really living the life now.

    Do we get pictures?

    So excited you’re out there in the world.

  2. aasaelsewhere says:

    I will post pictures when I can! Probably not until I get to England, though. Iºm using public computers, and donºt imagine they want us to download our pics onto them.

Leave a Reply

